Each service can be authorized by your customers, giving them the ability to approve or decline at the service level rather than the entire estimate. By offering authorization for each service, you have the opportunity to upsell additional work by suggesting Recommended Services that your customers can authorize as well.


How to authorize services

Authorization by the customer

When you are ready to send an estimate to your customer for authorization, the Request Authorization toggle is turned on by default in the Send Estimate menu:

Then when your customer receives the estimate, they will be able to review and authorize the services. They can click on the empty circle next to a service to add it to the services they will be authorizing:

Your customer can click View Details on any service to view the line items and any other applicable information (taxes, shop supplies, discounts, etc.). When they are ready to authorize the selected services, they will click on Review and Authorize at the bottom of the estimate:

If there were any services that were not authorized, they would be deemed as declined. Your customer can view their declined services and authorize them at a later time by clicking Declined Services, clicking on the declined services they would like to now authorize, then clicking Authorize:

If at any time you would like to preview how this process will look from your customer's point of view, simply click Customer Estimate Preview from the Send Estimate menu:


E-signatures

You can also have your customers authorize work using E-signatures. You can request a signature and have customers review your shop’s estimate terms. For more information, check out our help article.


Authorization by the shop

You can also handle the authorization process from the shop's perspective. This is helpful if the customer is physically in the shop or if they gave authorization via phone, text, or email.

If this is the case, you can authorize each service by clicking on the Authorize button at the top of any service:

Or by clicking Authorize from the Authorization section of the estimate:

From the Authorize Services menu, you can then authorize or decline each service, then specify how the customer gave their authorizations by clicking on the appropriate method. Note that the order total and the number of authorized services will change in real-time as authorizations are made:

You will then see the authorization statuses of the services reflected on the estimate. You will also see these statuses displayed when a customer authorizes or declines services from their end:

Please note that once a service has been authorized, you will not be able to make any changes to it without unauthorizing it first. If at any time you would like to change the authorizations, click View Authorizations in the Authorization section of the estimate, then click Change Authorizations:


Deferred Services

Shopmonkey will show you the services that were recommended but not authorized by your customers. You can use these for upsell opportunities in the future. For more information on Deferred Services, check out our help article.


Try it out

Authorizations let you and your customers trust that the work done in your shop is mutually agreed on. Try it out in your shop!

We hope this helps you run, understand, and grow your business. Please let us know if there is anything we can do to help along the way!

Did this answer your question?