By default, the Permissions tab will be selected when you open a user’s settings. Here you will find all of the user's Feature Permissions. The first settings you will see are the Customer Communication, Time Tracker, and Include in ‘Group by Tech’ View toggles.
Customer Communication controls whether or not the user can directly message customers.
Time Tracker determines whether or not the user has a time clock to track their work. Click on the Time Tracker dropdown arrow to see additional permission options.
Web Access - This gives your tech the ability to track time through the main Shopmonkey web app.
Mobile Access - This gives your tech the ability to clock in through the Shopmonkey for techs app.
Location Sharing - The Location Sharing check gives you location information for your techs when they Clock In and Clock Out. With this turned on you’ll be able to track if a tech clocked in from the shop and how far away they were when it happened. You can find these on the Web app when you’re viewing their time logs.
For more information on the Shopmonkey for Techs app check out our help article.
Include in ‘Group by Tech’ View creates a row in the calendar for the user to view their assigned appointments.
The next area moving down the menu is where you can customize the user's Section Permissions. Each permission has its own toggle. Clicking on the toggle will turn them on or off. If the toggle is on, that section will be available to the user, and it will appear in the left-side navigation for the user. Some sections have additional permissions. Click on any expandable permission to see the additional options. Please pay attention to the notes under some of these options, as they will explain the behavior to expect if the option is checked or unchecked.
The dashboard shows you important shop information. You can see information on your shop’s outstanding balances with the Customer Aging report and Unpaid Invoices report. You can get an overall snapshot of the orders in your shop with the Workflow Status report. You’ll also be able to see the work coming into your shop with the Upcoming Appointments report. For more information on the Dashboard, check out our help article.
Workflow & Orders
The Workflow & Orders permissions control the Workflow view and editing permissions of Orders.
View all Orders - When enabled, the user can see all of the orders for your shop. When disabled, the user can only see the orders that are assigned to them.
Order View Options - Choose from the options of Service Writer View Only, Technician View Only, or both. This will change how the user interacts with orders in Shopmonkey, so make sure you’re making the right selection. Check out these articles for more information on the Service Writer View and Technician View.
Edit authorized orders - When enabled, the user can change both authorized and unauthorized orders. When disabled, the user only has the option to edit unauthorized orders. That means when the customer or shop has authorized the services; they are locked from that user’s edits.
Edit orders upon converting to invoice - When enabled, the user can make changes to both estimates and invoices. When disabled, the user only has the option to edit estimates. That means when the estimate is converted to an invoice, it is locked from the user’s edits.
View profitability info - When this is enabled, the user can access the profitability tab on the order.
Edit Due Date - When this is enabled, the user can update the Due Date for the order.
Edit Payments - When enabled, the user can accept new payments and edit recorded payments on an order. When disabled, the user can still accept new payments but won’t be able to make any edits to recorded payments.
Edit the completion status of any labor item - When enabled, the user can mark any labor item complete. When disabled, the user can only update the completion status of labor items assigned to them.
The Calendar permissions change the access the user has to the Shopmonkey Calendar.
View all appointments - When enabled, the user can view all appointments created regardless of assignment. When disabled, the user can only view the appointments they are assigned to.
The Inventory permissions change the access the user has to make changes to the Shopmonkey Inventory.
Full Access - When enabled, the user has full editing privileges over inventory. The user can view all inventory items, add any items to the inventory, and make changes to any inventory items.
Limited access - When enabled, the user can view all inventory items, add any items to the inventory, and make most changes to any inventory items, but they can not update the quantity of inventory items.
View only access - When enabled, the user can only view items in inventory. They cannot add any items or make any changes to them.
The Time Clocks permissions change the access to what the user sees and how they record time.
View all time clocks - When enabled, the user can view their own time clock data and also view the time clocks for the rest of the shop. When disabled, the user can only view their own time clock data.
Edit timesheet entries - When enabled, the user can make changes to recorded time clock entries.
Add time manually - When enabled, the user has access to another way to record time. Instead of only having the option to clock in and clock out, they will also be able to select dates and times for time tracking.
The Lists permissions give the user access to additional sections on the Lists page.
View & edit Inspection Templates - When enabled, the user will have access to Inspection Templates in lists. From there, they can view, add, and update Inspection Templates. For more information, check out our help article.
View & edit Canned Services - When enabled, the user will have access to Canned Services in lists. From there, they can view, add, and update Canned Services. For more information, check out our help article.
View & edit Inventory Categories - When enabled, the user will have access to Inventory Categories in lists. From there, they can view, add, and update Inventory Categories. For more information, check out our help article.
Reports just have a general permission toggle. When enabled, the user has access to the Reports page in Shopmonkey. When disabled, the user has no access to the Reports page. For more information on Reports, check out our help article.
The Settings permissions give your user access to your shop’s foundational information in Shopmonkey. Usually, only users who will act as Administrators in your system will have access to this area.
View & edit Users - When enabled, the user will be able to add new users to your Shopmonkey account, update users, and archive users.
View & edit Pricing Matrices - When enabled, the user will have access to the Pricing Matrix and Labor Matrix. For more information, check out our help articles on the Pricing Matrix and Labor Matrix.
Thanks for reading about User Permissions. Check out the help article on User Settings here, and let us know if there is anything we can help you with.