Each user account can be set to an Admin, Service Writer, or Technician, each with their own preset permissions and notifications settings. You can customize these settings further if needed to have total control over your users' experience when using Shopmonkey.

How do I change a user's settings?

To view or edit a user's settings, go to Settings > Users, then click on the desired user. Their user settings menu will appear:

Below the user's contact information is the Permissions, Notifications, and Rates & Commissions tabs. By default the Permissions tab will be selected, where you will find the user's Feature Permissions. The first settings you will see are the Customer Communication, Time Tracker, and Section on Calendar toggles:

  • Customer Communication: Controls whether or not the user can directly message customers.

  • Time Tracker: Determines whether or not the user has a time clock to track their work.

  • Section on Calendar: Creates a row in the calendar for the user to view their assigned appointments.

The next area moving down the menu is where you can customize the user's individual Section Permissions. Click on any expandable permission to see the additional options:

Click on any of these additional options to turn them on or off for the user. Please pay attention to the notes under some of these options, as they will explain the behavior to expect if the option is checked or unchecked. Check out these articles for more information on the Service Writer View and Technician View.

Click on the Notifications tab to view the user's Notification Types. Click any checkbox to allow the user to receive notifications of that type:

Note that each Notification Type that is checked will be added to the user's notifications, meaning that whenever those actions are performed, the user will receive SMS, Email, and/or In-App notifications.

A user can then decide which notification methods they would like to receive for each Notification Type you set for them. To do this, the user will need to first log in to their account. Then in the upper-right corner, they will click on their user name, then click Update Notifications:

From there, the user will need to pick at least one notification method for each Notification Type, then click Save:

The third and final user setting tab is for the user's Rates & Commissions:

Here you can give your user a Labor Rate, which, if applicable will be used to calculate technician efficiency and profitability, as well as calculate labor costs and time entry totals.

You can give a user a Flat Rate from this section as well. When the Flat Rate toggle is enabled, the user's rate will auto-populate the labor line item's Labor Cost field. To learn more about Flat Rates, please click here.

The next section below is where you can provide a user with Commission by assigning a commission rate for labor, parts, and tires. Simply enter the desired percentage for each applicable commission type to begin tracking. Please note that commission is calculated once an order is converted to an invoice

Service Writers receive full commission for all commissionable items on the order.

Technicians receive:

  • Full labor commission for labor items to which they are assigned.

  • Full part commission if they are the only technician assigned.

  • Half part commission if they are assigned with another technician.

  • Full tire commission if they are the only technician assigned.

  • Half tire commission if they are assigned with another technician.

For information about making assignments, check out the Help article here.

You can view commission data from the Summary By Technician and Commission Summary reports.

Thank you for your time. If after reading this article you have any questions for us, please let us know!

Did this answer your question?